guides

Roanoke Area Summer Movies for Families!

Updated for 2022

By Beth Bell, Publisher May 27, 2022

Families in Roanoke, Virginia and the surrounding communities love outdoor movies series.  Moviegoers have options in Roanoke, Salem, Lynchburg, for outdoor events. While our local indoor theatres also offer summer matinees to make it affordable to get out of the heat and enjoy a show!  We also have the scoop on Drive In's. If you're looking for movies in Roanoke, Virginia, you're in the right place!



New This Year: Movies on the Lawn at Penn Forest Worship Center 

3735 Chapparal Drive, Roanoke, VA 24018 (Across from Cave Spring High School)

Free Movie on the Lawn. Bring a chair or blanket and join us! FREE! Free Popcorn and Smore's Movies and inclement weather updates will be posted on the PFWC Facebook page.



Summer Movie Express at Regal  4730 Valley View Blvd, Roanoke, VA 

Bring the family to the nearest Regal theatre for our 2022 Summer Movie Express series! Summer Movie Express tickets are just $2 on Tuesdays and Wednesdays featuring summer movies the whole family will enjoy. Availability varies by location, so select a movie from the posters above to see showtimes or check participating theatres for schedules.

Schedule

Week 1 Tue. May 31 to Wed. Jun 01 Both movies play on all days

KS22: Penguins of Madagascar

KS22: The Lego Movie



Week 2 Tue. Jun 07 to Wed. Jun 08 Both movies play on all days



KS22: The Lorax

KS22: The LEGO Movie 2: The Second Part


Week 3 Tue. Jun 14 to Wed. Jun 15 Both movies play on all days
KS22: Abominable

KS22: The LEGO Batman Movie


Week 4 Tue. Jun 21 to Wed. Jun 22 Both movies play on all days
KS22: Despicable Me

KS22: Pokemon Detective Pikachu


Week 5 Tue. Jun 28 to Wed. Jun 29 Both movies play on all days
KS22: Despicable Me 2

KS22: Space Jam


Week 6 Tue. Jul 05 to Wed. Jul 06 Both movies play on all days
KS22: Sing

KS22: Puss in Boots


Week 7 Tue. Jul 12 to Wed. Jul 13 Both movies play on all days

KS22: Sing 2

KS22: Space Jam: A New Legacy


Week 8 Tue. Jul 19 to Wed. Jul 20 Both movies play on all days
KS22: Despicable Me 3

KS22: Tom & Jerry


Week 9 Tue. Jul 26 to Wed. Jul 27 Both movies play on all days
KS22: Minions

KS22: Trolls World Tour


Week 10 Tue. Aug 02 to Wed. Aug 03 Both movies play on all days

KS22: The Croods: A New Age

KS22: The Boss Baby: Family Business 


Week 11 Tue. Aug 09 to Wed. Aug 10 Both movies play on all days



KS22: Trolls

KS22: How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World


Week 12 Tue. Aug 16 to Wed. Aug 17 Both movies play on all days



KS22: The Secret Life of Pets

KS22: Scoob!


Week 13 Tue. Aug 23 to Wed. Aug 24 Both movies play on all days
KS22: The Secret Life of Pets 2

KS22: Hop



Movies in Longwood Park, Salem, VA

Bring a blanket and chairs and enjoy a movie under the stars! Movie starts at dusk. Admission is free. Movie time snacks will be available to purchase from Fun Times and The Tailgate.

Time:  Movies start at dusk (around 8:30 p.m.) unless otherwise specified

Location: Longwood Park, Main Street, Salem, VA 

2022 Dates & Movies

Friday, May 20: Encanto

Friday, June 17: Raya and the Last Dragon

Friday, July 22: Ghostbusters: Afterlife

Friday, August 12: Luca


Movies on the Move, Franklin County, VA

Join us for Movies on the Move as we travel around Franklin County to bring you an outdoor movie close to your home. Prior to the movie there will be outdoor yard games to play. Concessions will be available with popcorn, snacks and drinks. Bring your blanket, lawn chair and a flashlight as we watch a movie on the big screen. Movies start at dusk. All movies are rated PG! In case of inclement weather movie will be moved inside to the Essig Recreation Center.

Schedule: 

May 27th/ MITCHELLS VS. THE MACHINES / Antioch Community Park

June 24th/ ENCANTO/ Glade Hill Elementary School

July 29th /LUCA/ FCPR Main Office

August 26th/ Sing 2/ Burnt Chimney Elementary School

September 30th/ SOUL/ Jamison Mill

October 28th/ BOSS BABY FAMILY BUSINESS / Summit View Park




Starlight Drive In, Christiansburg, VA
Hulls Drive In, Lexington, Virginia
Eden Drive In, Eden, NC

You could also Create Your Own Backyard Drive In Theatre